All UK Exam Boards included

Kingdoms: Prokaryotae, Protoctista, Plantae, Fungi, Animalia

Download Topic

Classification in kingdoms has had a fairly long history of going backwards and forwards in terms of which kingdoms to include, and how many there are in total. For example, one of the latest classifications puts forward 7 kingdoms.


The five-kingdom system of Prokaryotae, Protoctista, Plantae, Fungi and Animalia is already half a century old, has been up for debate as well, and will probably continue to evolve as we learn more about new species and the relationships between different kinds of organism. So, without further ado, let’s learn the basic principles of these kingdoms and what kind of organisms they represent.


Prokaryotae (or Monera)


This kingdom was used to refer to single-celled prokaryotes such as bacteria and archaea, and it rose to prominence in the 1920s because the important distinction between eukaryotes and prokaryotes was just beginning to take hold.



Pictured Lactobacillus is a bacterium added to so-called “probiotic” foods. Archaea look similar to bacteria, so weren’t distinguished for a while, before molecular biology revealed that their genes and protein synthesis machinery are very different and more closely related to those of eukaryotes. Many famous archaea are what’s called extremophiles because they were found in extreme environments such as boiling water and extreme acidity.


Protoctista (or Protista)


This is not the best kingdom to start with, because it’s defined mostly by organisms which do not make it into the other kingdoms more than anything else! It refers to unicellular or multicellular eukaryotes which do not fit under the kingdoms Plantae, Fungi or Animalia. Protoctista is more generic than Protista and covers the multicellular members of the kingdom such as kelps and red algae, while Protista refers to the microscopic organisms such as paramecium.





Plants – basically. More specifically, green plants. They are defined in this kingdom by cells with cellulose cell walls, the function of photosynthesis which underpins their autotroph feeding (meaning self-feeding by making their own nutrients rather than having to ingest other animals), and sexual reproduction with alternating generations.


Green plants evolved their ability to photosynthesise by endosymbiosis with cyanoabcteria. This means plant cells joined up with photosynthesising bacterial cells. These became today’s chloroplasts which contain the photosynthesising chemicals in green plants.



Although some green plants do reproduce asexually, sexual reproduction is a key feature of them. Alternating generations refers to some groups of this kingdom producing haploid specimens which give rise to diploid specimens, which give rise to haploid specimens, and so on and so forth alternating generations.



For example, a diploid fern (first generation) will produce spores which will result in a different variation of the same fern (second generation). This variation is haploid, and produces gametes instead of spores. These are haploid so will need to sexually reproduce by joining together to form a zygote. The zygote will grow into a new diploid fern (third generation).




Kingdom Fungi covers yeasts, moulds and mushrooms – all eukaryotic. Of course, all kingdoms are eukaryotic apart from Prokaryotae, there’s a hint. Fungi can be both microscopic and large.


Fungi set themselves apart into the kingdom by the prevalence of chitin in their cell walls (as opposed to cellulose in plant cell walls), no ability to photosynthesise, no ability to move except by growing in a particular direction, and their heterotrophic means of feeding.


They can excrete enzymes into their environment to break down nutrients for them to absorb for energy. Fungi were misunderstood for a while and thought to be a subset of plants, only for it to later become apparent that they are their own thing, and if anything are more closely related to animals.



Their cells form web-like or sponge-like structures (hyphae that together form a mycelium) that can be underground, so they only make themselves obvious when they fruit, for example as mould on bread or mushrooms in the woods.




Finally, we’ve got to me and you! Les animaux… Animalia originates from the Latin animalis meaning having a soul. It also shares its meaning with words like animation and animated.


Unsurprisingly then, one of the distinguishing features for members of this eukaryotic kingdom is the ability to move at some point in their lives – motility. Other features include heterotrophic feeding, like fungi, as well as a fixed body plan, meaning that individuals develop into a specific rough body model (such as a vertebrate) which then stays the same.



Organisms in this kingdom include vertebrates (less than 5% of species, e.g. fish, reptiles, mammals) and invertebrates (lacking a spine). The latter include worms, leeches, corals, crabs, sponges and insects.


Ok byeeeeeeeee





Sorry! There are no posts.

Sorry! There are no posts.

Your Reviews

Thank you!! Your site is so helpful!

studyaspect YouTube

OMG them videos are great! You're a goldmine - and I'm a gold digger ;)

sc12 YouTube

I got A* in A-level biology (Cambridge), thanks! I love your videos

Sherif Negm Facebook

I bookmarked the site 

translucent The Student Room

wow just checked out your website and think it’s pretty cool.

Eager bug The Student Room